Gulf Coast Cowboy Hour November 23rd Playlist

Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

KBEC is proud to bring you a little break in the middle of your week. The Gulf Coast Cowboy Hour this week features some familiar artists as well as some new names.

The playlist for the November 23rd show is as follows:

  1. The Talking Manatee / Jim Morris
  2. Mexico / Jimmy Buffett
  3. Beachcombin' / KD Moore & Greg 'Fingers' Taylor
  4. Dallas / Joe Ely
  5. Backroads of Texas / The Bois d'Arcs
  6. I Stole Jimmy Buffett's TV Guide / Don Middlebrook and Living Soul
  7. Duval Crawl / The Caribbean Cowboys
  8. Sliding Down to Mexico / Joe Bennett
  9. Where the Boats Come In / Zac Brown Band
  10. Gulf Coast Day / Jerry Diaz & Hanna's Reef
  11. Redfish Island / Kelly McGuire
  12. Sangria Wine / Jerry Jeff Walker
  13. What Happens In Key West / The Tap Water Conchs


This Jim Morris tune is from his album Another Day At the Office.

"Mexico" is the last track from the Jimmy Buffett album, Barometer Soup.

KD Moore and 'Fingers' Taylor released "Beachcombin'" as the title track for their 2007 album.

Joe Ely, of the Flatlanders, is a native Texan who has played with everyone from the Clash to Lyle Lovett.  This song is from his Must Notta Gotta Lotta album.

Another native Texan band, the Bois d'Arcs hail from the town of Muenster.  "Backroads of Texas" comes from their self-titled album.

Don Middlebrook and Living Soul come from Michigan and this song is based off a (supposedly!) true incident involving the band.  This track can be found on their Changing Lanes album.

The "Duval Crawl" is from the Down to the Islands album.  The Caribbean Cowboys got their start in North Carolina and have played everywhere there is a coastline.

Joe Bennett is a New Orleans icon who seeks to put the voodoo spirit of the Vieux Carre in all his songs.  "Sliding Down to Mexico" is the third track on his album Fifty Dollar Treasure Map.

"Where the Boats Come In" is a Zac Brown Band tune.

"Gulf Coast Day" is from Jerry Diaz & Hanna's Reef's newest album, Home on the Gulf Coast.

"Redfish Island" is the title track of Kelly McGuire's first CD which has sold over 20,000 copies.

The 1973 album Viva Terlingua was the original release of this Jerry Jeff Walker tune.

The Tap Water Conchs only play in Key West and "What Happens In Key West" is the title track of their latest album.

You can catch more Gulf and Western music every Wednesday evening at 7 PM right here on KBEC 1390.  Listen in for a little break in the middle of your busy week - and if you have any requests or recommendations you should let us know This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it !